Lara George, Frank Edwards, Buchi, Sammie Okposo, Others Win Nigeria’s Top Gospel Award

Outstanding and industrious Nigeria gospel artistes were honoured penultimate Sunday at the second edition of the exquisite Nigerian Crystal Gospel Music Awardsfor their excellent performance in the music industry. It was held at the MUSON Centre, Onikan, Lagos. The very colourful annual event which was held with blissful fanfare and glitz attracted gospel acts, fans and guests within and outside Nigeria. It was organised by the Nigerian Gospel Music Foundation (NGMF). A body of Gospel Music professionals whose aim for the award is to aid the entire advancement of Nigeria Music industry globally by recognizing, honouring and celebrating excellence in the Gospel music sector of the music industry. A total of twenty nine awards were given out to best gospel arts for their crystal achievement in the music industry last year. Top winners of the distinguished award were red-hot Frank Edwards whose smash hit Songs “Mma Mma” and “Imela” is rocking the Christian world within and outside the country. The wave making Gospel Music Star bagged two awards in “Best Male Vocalist of the Year” and “Most Notable Achievement Award” (Special Awards). He was closely followed by last year’s show-maker, PITA who smiled home with the “Artiste of the Year Award” and “Best Praise Song”, he won with his chartbusting praise song “Twale”.

See also  BBNaija's Shine Ya Eye Jackie B Confesses

Notable winners included, Africa’s gospel great, Lara George, won the Best Female Vocalist, Gospel Reggae pioneer, Buchi bagged “Best Gospel Reggae Artiste” while high flying Mike Abdul, the Morire Master got the “Song of the Year Award” for his unstoppable Morire hit song. Nikki Laoye won the “Best Worship Song” with the very inspiring worship song “Only You” while the “Best Group of the Year” went to the Tehila Crew. Impressive Gospel rock artiste EBEN’s “Justified” album received “Album of the Year Award” and the revelation of the year Preye got the “Best New Artiste Award”. Best collaboration went to “Hail the King” by Obiwon featuring Frank Edwards, Eben and Kenny Kore, while Okiki Jesu Fuji bagged “Best Traditional Gospel Artiste”. Gospel music poster boy, Henrisoul received the “Best Urban/Inspirational Song. An amazing award that created one of the biggest upset as fast rising urban gospel act floored heavyweights like Cobhams Asuquo for the coveted award trophy.

See also  M.I Abaga, Vector War Latest

“The Best Video”-“You are Great” by Ayo Vincent featuring Joe Praize, “Best Video Director” was won by Yinka Davids. “Best Rap/Hip Hop” – IBK Space Ship Boi, “Best Producer” – Wilson Joel, “Best On-Air personality – DJ Gosporella, “Best Male Artiste Diaspora”-Lawrence Ikiri, “Best Female Artiste Diaspora”-Isabella, “Best Rock Artiste”-Joel Praize, “Best Use Instrument”-Mike Aremu, “Comedian of the Year”-Akpororo.

In the special awards categories, Wellu Wellu Master, Sammie Okposo bagged “Life time Achievement Award while ace Music producer, Wole Oni got the “Crystal Icon Award”. Crystal Humanitarian Award went to Mr. Eshareturi while Gospel music legend, Pastor Joseph Adelakun aka Ayewa bagged the “Evergreen Award” with his refreshingly evergreen song “Amona Tete”. This distinct presentation was the major highlight of the event. Adelakan, the founder of the legendary Ayewa International Gospel Singers Band was so elated that he prayed fervently for the organizers of the award. “I appreciate you all for giving me this award today, the Lord will continue to honour you all as well”, he prayed. The special presentation was conducted by Pastor Timi Adegoke, CEO of Nigerian Gospel Music Foundation (NGMF) and his able subordinates, Pastor Adenekan and Victor Igbinigie. Another highlight of the event was the tribute to the late Kefee, who recently passed on. Emotional tribute by Nikki Laoye and Anny Ibrahim aka Anny Love who rendered some of her popular songs to pay tribute to the departed star songstress.

See also  Laide Bakare Buys N50 Million Cars

The event vivaciously anchored by Nollywood actress Doris Simeon and upcoming hilarious comedian Grand Komanda also featured a delicious “marriage” of comedy and music performed by Frank Edward, Okiki Jesu Fuji, Tehila Crew, Chika 100%, Femi Flame and unpredictable top comedian, Akpororo.