News, Politics

Prof. Ayade Wins Cross River Governorship Election

Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River State and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state has been declared winner of the governorship election held on Saturday, March 9th, 2019 by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Professor Ayade defeated the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate with a landslide margin as he polled 250,323 votes while the APC candidate polled 131,161. Candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Mr Eyo Ekpo polled 4, 818 votes.

READ  Iyanya Gets Government Appointment

Announcing the result on Monday, March 11th, 2019, the INEC returning officer and Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Warri, Delta State, Professor Akii Ibhadode, said;

“The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Professor Ben Ayade, having scored the highest number of votes and fulfilled the requirements of the law, is returned elected.”

“The number of registered voters is 1,486,026, accredited voters 542,115, valid votes 522, 309, rejected votes 11,499 and total votes cast 533,808.”